What happens if a player touches the net? If a player touches the net, net post, strap or singles sticks with any part of their body, clothing or with the racket (whether it’s in their hands or not), they automatically lose the point. ITF Rules Of Tennis Rule 24g (link at the end of the article)
April 15, 2018 at 10:17 am. Here is the rule from “The Code”. Code § 19. A player shall concede the point when: • A ball in play touches that player; • That player touches the net or opponent’s court while a ball is in play; • That player hits a ball before it crosses the net;
Every tennis player knows they are not allowed to touch the net with their racquet, hands, body, or feet; but when CAN you touch the net? At an ATP tournament in Rio, Fabio Fognini played a very strange match with Rafa Nadal … and this rule came into play.
(13) A player can’t touch the net, with anything, until the point is over. A player can’t touch the net while the ball is in play.
You are not allowed to touch the net with anything until the point is over in a game of tennis. This is duly covered in ITF rule 24g. In the rule, it is even stated that if any part of your body, your item of clothing or even your racket touches the net or the net posts while the ball is still in play, then the point is awarded to your opponent.
Hits the ball before it passes over the net; Touch the ball with anything they’re wearing other than the racquet or anything they’re wearing touches the net or opponent’s court; Deliberately carry or catch the ball on their racquet or touch the ball with their racquet more than once
Your racquet can cross the net as long as it never touches it. This does not mean you can just start reaching across the net to hit balls before they come to your side. Before you can hit a return, the ball must first cross over the net to your side of the court. (ITF Rule 24)
The player reaches over the net and plays the ball into the correct court without touching the net. The ball is returned outside the net posts (either above, or below net level) and lands in the correct court. This rule applies even if the ball touches the net post, but lands in the correct court.